Wellington Region

Regional Investment Plan


The Wellington Regional Investment Plan is being driven by the Wellington Mayoral Forum and aligns with the current Wellington Regional Strategy (WRS). The aim of the WRS is to build a resilient, diverse economy – one that retains and creates jobs (especially high value jobs), supports the growth of high value companies and improves the region’s position in relation to the national GDP and national employment.

The following nine local authorities comprise the Wellington region and are represented on the Mayoral Forum:

  • Kāpiti Coast District Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Hutt City Council
  • Masterton District Council
  • South Wairarapa District Council
  • Carterton District Council
  • Wellington City Council
  • Greater Wellington Regional Council

The Wellington Regional Investment Plan takes a regional approach to identifying the opportunities for investment which will best support the regional strategy, and to identify where investment could be sourced.

The work on the plan is governed by a Steering Group, comprising senior representatives of each of the local authorities and the Regional Council, Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency (WREDA) and NZTA.